tx200 mk 2 - Hot

no avatar
juanpablo

tx200 mk 2 - Hot

Fri Mar 27, 2015 9:08 pm

Hi Guys Newbie here - First of all big thank you to Julian for great price, service and advice on new spring and front guide.
Found the forum through him and must say it looks great.
Looking for some advice on the subject of the gun running hot.
Owned for 18 years and probably no more than 5000 pellets through it but now semi retired I bought a Crombo and was shocked to discover my 7 year old Hw95 and Tx both over.My mates old venom tuned Hw 77 showing 11.4 so felt the Crombo is ok. Discovered the Hw spring problem on the net so stripped and lubed and refinished the spring and now getting a 10 shot spread of 6fps on Accupell at 10.98 and Hobbies at 11.00 and so much nicer.Superdomes have a 8fps spread and average 10.79 - really pleased with the results.
Onto the Tx - cleaned and relubed and after 30 shots onto the chrono - it read the same as before.
Took a coil off the bottom (couldn't move the front guide) but not happy with the job as the spring was now tight on the guide and zero preload also being 18 years old I ordered a new AA one.Fitted today and the power is still where it was .
Would appreciate any advice.

Dave.

no avatar
Roadworthy

Re: tx200 mk 2 - Hot

Sat Mar 28, 2015 5:27 am

To my understanding a spring being tight on the guide is a good thing - it helps reduce twang. It may also reduce power slightly.

Your main concern appears to be too much power. You may opt of a spring with thinner wire - Air Rifle Headquarters sells them.

A new piston seal will slide less freely in the compression tube, slowing it down. This will also reduce your power output. The reduction in shot cycle will likely smooth your shot cycle as well.

I don't believe they have any in stock at the moment, but Air Rifle Headquarters sells a machined steel cocking shoe for the TX 200 which can really smooth the cocking.

eddie666

Sat Mar 28, 2015 9:22 am

Admin edit
prosport 177 2015 walnut