PLEASE EVERYONE READ

no avatar
airarmsadmin
Site Admin

PLEASE EVERYONE READ

Sun Feb 15, 2015 3:27 pm

This is a stop gap ( hopefully) until i can the old site sorted .

pleas bear with me while i do this , i am a complete newb to this forum running / uploading etc thing :( :( :( .

rgds

julian

no avatar
Axelrod

Re: PLEASE EVERYONE READ

Sun Feb 15, 2015 4:25 pm

You are a genius, good to see the site back dave

no avatar
ajg40

Sun Feb 15, 2015 4:49 pm

Julian

Thanks for sorting the site out

Anthony

no avatar
Suffolk Rifle

Sun Feb 15, 2015 7:00 pm

Thanks for this, hope the upload of the old forums goes well - too much technical stuff to lose ;)

no avatar
airarmsadmin
Site Admin

Sun Feb 15, 2015 7:05 pm

i've got to be honest , its not going well :( :( :( :( .

if anyone KNOW they can help please get in touch please , pretty please . pretty please with cherrys on top xxxxx

no avatar
Fat pep

Sun Feb 15, 2015 7:12 pm

well done Julian
hope all goes well

no avatar
Suffolk Rifle

Sun Feb 15, 2015 7:31 pm

I run a forum over on the 'myff' server, and reading their 'help' forum, they give a small insight into how they export/import forum, I don't know if it's of any help though.
If you do buy a forum export to leave the system, you are going to need some basic expertise with mysql databases, and preferably have a tool like phpmyadmin on your system.

The procedure we recommend is.

1) Create a working blank phpbb2 forum, with the table prefix phpbb_ (this is the default)

2) Make a copy of the export file, removing the table defintions and data for the tables phpbb_themes, phpbb_themes_name. These tables contain stuff that will come a cropper if you have installed myfreeforum templates.

3)Also elminate phpbb_config from the export file. But take a note of a few entries here like record_online and board_startdate. You may want to edit these values in later with phpmyadmin.