How and when do you clean the barrell

no avatar
kiwi Rabbiter

How and when do you clean the barrell

Fri Dec 11, 2015 4:23 am

Hi Member's, I was just wondering when should we clean our Air Arms rifle barrels? I couldn't find anything here on the subject unless I'm blind, :roll: as I have now gone through two and a half tins, and I haven't noticed really in accuracy drop off as yet. I would like to know if possible, is when and how and what lubricant is used if any.
There is so many if's and but's on the subject, but who is right? or wrong? on Google Search. This is my first time that I have owned a air rifle of any sort. It is a Air Arms S 510 XTRA FAC .22, I use it for my job shooting Rabbits on the local golf courses here. Thanks for helping me out if you can. Cheer's

Blackbaronfish

Re: How and when do you clean the barrell

Fri Dec 11, 2015 6:18 am

Most only clean their barrels when accuracy drops off, and then its only a quick pull through.

BBF
Did I mention that I'm the only one to have attended EVERY meet since we started

Sake-san

Fri Dec 11, 2015 8:21 am

Very easy and effective to make your own pull-through using thick monofilament fishing line (safe for the barrel as no metal parts) with a simple loop knotted into each end. Get some thin lint free cotton cloths and cut into small pieces (e.g. 3x1cm) to use as patches.
Simple, cheap and effective...
TX200/Gary Cane/Sightron SIII 10-50x60
TX200/Gary Cane/Sightron SIII 10x42
TX200 test / analysis gun

no avatar
billywhizz

Fri Dec 11, 2015 2:33 pm

I use roll up cigarette filter tips,small drop of cleaner on the filter roll it in your fingers till it fits the barrel ,load it and fire it thro till its clean ,then do the same with just a clean filter till it comes out clean,normaly do it every 3 months or so, you can buy a box of 50/100 for as little as 50/60 p.hope this helps you .

no avatar
gary martin

Fri Dec 11, 2015 5:29 pm

my PCP, approx every 200 shots.

no avatar
kiwi Rabbiter